Skip to content
September 9, 2011 / the speech monster

I CAN Communicate

One thing I enjoy about being in tiny Australia is being forced to look outside this country at what other people are doing globally. If we had remained in the US (where I went to school) I’m pretty sure most of my views on SLP would be US-centric. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, of course! BUT, it’s great to have a global perspective on things, to learn from what everyone else is doing.

As you know, advocacy for children with communication difficulties is something always on my mind. I still don’t really know how to do it here, being just one tiny little practitioner (and I meant that literally as well!). But I have been reading about what goes on elsewhere and dreaming that one day, I can also run a charity or do some community work to reach out especially to the poorest neighborhoods in Victoria to help these kids achieve.

I CAN COMMUNICATE is a UK not for profit organization that raises awareness and funds for children with communication difficulties. I hopped on the site briefly and found it packed full of information for parents, educators, and anyone and everyone who wants to learn more about communicative disorders. The most inspiring part of this, is its mission: to ensure that no child who struggles to communicate is left out or left behind.

Click here to visit their website.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Moo's Pantry / Feb 20 2013 10:52 am

    You could also try Afasic – they are a voluntary organisation offering support and advocacy for parents and children with SLI/SLCN. We are currently developing a parent support group within our authority in the UK to try and help parents find out what they don’t know! After all, if nobody tells you what’s available, how do you know?! Moo x

Leave a Reply

