Skip to content
August 11, 2012 / the speech monster

Such a beautiful poem and reflections of the poem. As an SLP who believes strongly in working collaboratively with families, I’ll let both poet and author of post do the sharing that reflects all too well my sentiments.

Excentia's S. June Smith Center

I was recently asked to share my feelings about my job as a speech therapist at the S. June Smith Center. There is a poem that I discovered years ago, and as a speech language pathologist, it perfectly describes how I feel about my work with children. I read it often.

Unfolding

by Loraine Manno

Their little faces look at me for all the words to say.

For thoughts to think and dreams to dream and unknown ways to play.

As they search me, I search them still to find the unlocked doors.

The ways to enter softly, the avenues to explore.

At those moments when we meet in time, however great or small,

They find in me and I in them the wonder of it all.

Yet the work I do has a broader scope beyond just working with children. I am finding that my work includes:

  • Educating and…

View original post 376 more words

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. S. June Smith Center / Aug 11 2012 2:01 am

    Thank you for sharing one of our posts!

    • the speech monster / Aug 11 2012 11:17 pm

      With pleasure! I enjoy reading other professionals’ blogs. Always inspired from them. : )

  2. Eugenia / Aug 11 2012 4:55 am

    You can do it!!

    • the speech monster / Aug 11 2012 11:17 pm

      Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

