Skip to content
January 30, 2013 / the speech monster

Florida Center for Reading Research

Last year, I spent a chunk of my spare time doing extra readings on the topic of reading difficulties and literacy, and in the midst of all that, found out about the Florida Center for Reading Research (FCRR). I remember my heart palpitating slightly faster the moment I clicked on a few links and saw what I thought was a goldmine: pages and pages of free, downloadable resources (?!!!!). Seriously??!

Then, I somehow got distracted and forgot about this site until a couple months back, when a good friend of mine (also a speechie, and an amazing one!) reminded me of it. Since then, I’ve been on it whenever I have a free moment at work, making up resources and catching up on the information posted on the site.

If, like me, you love freebies and also have some memory/attention difficulties, you might like to visit this website now, check out the downloads, and print them out immediately! There are literally pages and pages of activities around the 5 areas of reading: Phonological Awareness, Phonics, Fluency, Vocabulary, and Comprehension, that we often target in intervention. Here are a couple of screenshots of just one of the hundreds of activities on there. I think there’s also a CD or book version of the activities you can purchase if you prefer a consolidated edition.

Screen shot 2013-01-30 at 8.46.09 PMScreen shot 2013-01-30 at 8.46.37 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Besides the freebies, there is also an immense amount of information around the topic: from the latest research in reading, presentations for educators, to information about implementing Response To Intervention in the school/classroom, and handouts for parents.

Thank you so much for sharing all your great research and resources, FCRR!!

Leave a Reply

