Skip to content
March 8, 2013 / the speech monster

Cued Articulation

I did my SLP training in the United States, and moved to Australia shortly after. Being foreign-trained, I find it refreshing to learn about some of the useful and popular resources and programs here that are not so big in the States (at least not when I was training), and today I’m going to do a brief post on one of them I have grown to love and find myself using almost every (work) day, called Cued Articulation.

Cued Articulation is a set of visual representations of English speech sounds that was developed by Jane Passy, a Speech Pathologist from Australia. There is a hand sign for every speech sound: consonants and vowels included. As SLPs, we talk about speech sounds in terms of Place, Voice and Manner (PVM). Without going into the technical details (because if you’re reading this, chances are you’re an SLP or SLP to be and would already know this!), these hand signs are great because they were developed to show where the sound is made, and how it is made. The detailed version of cued articulation also comes with colour codes, and therefore children get another visual prompt for the speech sounds, in addition to the hand signs.

It has been an extremely versatile tool, as I’m able to use it when working on speech sounds, phonological awareness, and language. It’s great because when children get used to doing the signs, they start prompting themselves with the actions! Cued Articulation is also handy for teachers taking the younger grades, especially when introducing the alphabet to their students and cueing them to remember their sounds.

Want to find out more? Training sessions are regularly run in Australia, and in the UK. I don’t know if they are in the US (if anyone knows of such training sessions, please let us know!), however, you can purchase the book on Amazon to learn the cues (book costs about US35) or look them up on YouTube.

Here are a couple of examples of the cues. The images are taken from the Cued Articulation book.

Have you used Cued Articulation? How have you used it and what are your thoughts on it? Do you have a similar system/method of cueing speech sounds in your country that you can share?

9780864319265D1239503

***Update March 9: To clarify: Cued Articulation is not the same as Cued Speech, which is a system used among deaf and hard of hearing people.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Mar 10 2013 9:14 pm

    I learned to cue in Asension Parish in Gonzales LA almost 20 years ago. Almost all hearing impaired students of our parish use cued speech. I was a translitarator at LSU and in our public school. Although I no longer work with HI students I still remember most of the sounds and hand placement that make them.

    • the speech monster / Mar 12 2013 4:52 am

      Hi Amy, Thanks for your comment! It sounds like cued speech is really efffective with HI students! Jane Passy stressed on her website, that Cued Articulation is not the same as Cued Speech. I’m curious now to find out more about Cued Speech and how it differs from Cued Articulation.

  2. Chris / Mar 25 2013 5:31 am

    I use Cued Articulation with many of my articulation students. I find that it is helpful for many of my young speech sound disorder kiddos and my kiddos with apraxia. It really comes naturally to those students who need a visual cue in order to correct their speech error. It’s one of many tools in my speech bag o tricks.

Leave a Reply

